AMORPHIS interview Tomi Koivusaari - Skyforger (2009) - Nuclear Blast GmbH - HEAVY SOUND SYSTEM

Publié le par HeavySoundSystem - Oliiver



 

amorphis

 



drapeau_france.jpg  DRAPEAU_ALLEMAGNE.gif

amorphis 2009 10At first, can you introduce yourself and tell us in few words  your own career ?

I'm Tomi Koivusaari, I started to play guitar when I was 12, after I saw W.A.S.P's I wanna be somebody video. My first band was called The Animals (not THAT, I think..), our drummer Jan was also in it. We played some sort of heavy metal, with own songs since beginning. After like 4-5 years we formed Amorphis. Before that I had band called Abhorrence, we played grind/death metal, and published one demo and one 7'' EP. That EP was actually reason why Relapse signed Amorphis in first place.
 
What are your own favorite styles and  influences  ?

My influences would be bands like Pink Floyd, Jethro Tull, Carcass, Entombed, Iron Maiden, Led Zeppelin, Deep Purple... everything I hear basically, at least someway.
 
About the band :

We started at 1990, after we all got grazy about bands like Morbid Angel, Carcass, Piirpauke and Pink Floyd. My former band broke up after one year existing, and Esa's and Jan's Violent Solution broke up as well. Esa was actually replacing me in Violent Solution, which I leave to form Abhorrence. We asked our friend Oppu to play bass, before that he had band called Nuxvomica.

Wich artist you work with or you worked with impress(ed) you the most ?

I'd say Marco Hietala at the moment, his sense of harmonies is incredible. Bands we have toured with, it must be Opeth. They are as well having so many elements in their music and they are mixing those very well.
 
Chronique - Cliquez !
What about your promotion work and your relation with press at the moment ? Do you get a good feed back about your new album ?

It's ok, what can I say. Yes we have had very good response from the most of press I've read.
 
What’s the mood of it ? What would you say to make people listen to it and buy it ?
 
It is very organic, dynamic, multi-faceted and "airish". Just listen to it and buy if you like it.
 
Where do you find your inspiration for music and lyrics ?

Biggest influence for our music has always been nature. Musically it is basically everything we are listening, there is always something stocking to your head. Lyrics are inspired by finnish folklores and mythology. Our three last album's and couple of first ones are based to Kalevala.

What’s your favorite new track ? Why ?

Majestic Beast at the moment. It rocks, it is very heavy but same time having one of the greatest melodies we have. But favorite tracks are changing almost every week.

D
o you think you will bring something new in music with your new cd ?


I hope so. It hard to say if we bring anything new to "music", I don't know if it's even possible anymore nowadays, but I want to think that we sound original among all these metal bands.
 

amorphis 2009 01

W
ill you be touring soon and what can the audience expect from you on stage ?

We will have 1 month European tour on autumn. People can expect that they will not be dissapointment after the show. We will play stuff from our whole career.
 
I wish you a big success with your new album and i thank you for this HEAVY SOUND SYSTEM interview !

Thanks for yourself Olivier!
 
Which message do you want to leave to HEAVY SOUNDERS ?

Sound heavy!
 

 
 
AMORPHIS interview Tomi Koivusaari - Skyforger (2009)
Nuclear Blast GmbH

MySpace
Website

photos by Denis Goria


nuclearblast1.jpg
 










 

Publié dans Interviews

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article