DEATHLIKE SILENCE Mr Cerberus & Mr Catafalque interview - Saturday Night Evil (2009) - HEAVY SOUND SYSTEM

Publié le par HeavySoundSystem - OLIIVER



DEATHLIKE SILENCE interview
Mr Cerberus & Mr Catafalque
  
 

 

 

DEATHLIKE SILENCE est un groupe finlandais de heavy mélodique à chanteuse qui sort ici son deuxième opus et qui mérite notre attention ; son premier album, VIGOR MORTIS, s’étant classé à la 35ème place des charts officiels en Finlande.
Mr.Cerberus et Mr Catafalque se présentent : 


drapeau_france.jpg DRAPEAU_ALLEMAGNE.gif

At first, can you introduce yourself and tell us in few words  your own career ?

Mr Cerberus: Hi! Well yes.

Mr Catafalque: We are melodic metallers called Deathlike Silence and we come from Turku, Finland. I´ve played guitar since age of 13, and my first bands we´re when I  was 15 or so. I´ve also written songs since then. Before this band, there was many years between when I wasn´t playing guitar at all, but I was still writing music, but very different kind of thought.

Mr.Cerberus: I´ve been playing since I was 11, so it´s been a while. When we were about 14, me and a friend started a band called The Face, which soon changed its name to Duck. Those were the days. Later I´ve sold my soul, as many metal fanatics would say, by playing all kinds of top 40 music, dance stuff and other such things. I did it for the noble reason of surviving. I´ve also played blues, funk, rock, progressive stuff and some really weird stuff.

What are your own favorite styles and  influences  ?

Mr Cerberus: I don´t really know if I have any favourite styles. I listen more to rock, progressive and metal. I do, however, think that there is no such thing as a style that is better than another style. It´s all just music, and all styles have about the same amount of good music in them, and the same goes for bad music (however you define that). My main influences as a guitar player are: Yngwie Malmsteen, Steve Vai, Gary Moore, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Devin Townsend and Vlatko Stefanovski among others. As a musician in general I would say, Frank Zappa, Genesis, Devin Townsend (again), Meshuggah (lately) and Masi Hukari (who at the moment plays in Alavala). There are of course more than these meagre few.

Which artist you work with or you worked with impress(ed) you the most ?

Mr Cerberus: Of all the singers I´ve worked with, I would have to say Maya. She´s a great singer, but on top of that she´s a great person and a true professional.

Mr Catafalque: I agree. And I would say the same goes with Mr Cerberus too. Not as a singer, but as a guitar player of course J We´ve been playing at same gigs as an opening acts for many talented bands, but it´s too long list to put here.

la chronique, cliquez !What about your promotion work and your relation with press at the moment ? Do you get a good feed back about your new album ?

Mr Cerberus: I think the feedback has been good. The interviews have been nice, so no complaints there.

What´s the mood of it ? What would you say to make people listen to it and buy it ?

Mr Cerberus: The mood is slightly heavier and darker than Vigor Mortis. It´s melodic music, but at the same time it has an edge to it, so I wouldn´t say that it´s Backstreet Boys with distortion. For all you fellow guitar nerds out there: It´s got some really nice guitar stuff on it, even if I do say so myself. The vocals are great and it´s got some very good songs. Actually my sales pitch would be: Give it a try. You won´t be disappointed.

Where do you find your inspiration for music and lyrics ?

Mr Catafalque: Inspiration comes where ever, I can´t say exactly. Mainly I just develop melodies in my mind, and then try to find a good chord structure under it with my guitar or keyboards. Sometimes a new song could start from some riff that comes along when I´m playing just something and so on. My lyrics come basically from the world of horror.

Mr Cerberus: The lyrics on this one are mostly from I don´t know where. Just things I came up with. There is, however, one song which is about something that has made me angry, but I´ll let you guess which one it is.

What´s your favorite new track ? Why ?

Mr Cerberus: Till Death Tears Apart is one. I really like the guitar solo on that one, and the melody in the chorus is great. Burning flesh is one of the really good ones to play live.

Mr Catafalque: They are all my favourites JActually it depends very much from the mood what is my favourite at the time.

 

 


Do you think you will bring something new in music with your new cd ?


Mr Cerberus: Hopefully. I think any changes will be small enough that they won´t change our style, but that they will also be big enough to matter and keep the music fresh. You have to change, at least a bit, if not for anyone else, then at least for your own sake. Who would want to keep on doing the same stuff every single day for years on end?

Will you be touring soon and what can the audience expect from you on stage ?


Mr Cerberus: We did some touring in Finland after the album was released. At the moment we have nothing scheduled, but we would love to tour abroad as well. Our live show is nothing short of brilliant!

Message to HEAVY SOUNDERS :

Thank you for reading our inane ramblings, and remember to buy our t-shirt!

 

 





DEATHLIKE SILENCE Saturday Night Evil - interview  28 mai 2009

 Mr Catafalque - guitar
Mr Cerbeross - guitar
Ms Maya - vocals
Mr Ward - bass
Mr Lethargy - keyboards
Mr Gehenna - drums


Site Officiel MySpace

Photos promo et visuels :




Retour haut de page:











Publié dans Interviews

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article