GRAND DESIGN interview Pelle Saether – Time Elevation (2009) - Metal Heaven

Publié le par HeavySoundSystem - Oliiver


10 questions to PELLE SAETHER

GRAND DESIGN “Time Elevation”

 

GRAND-DESIGN-Logo

 


Waouh ! Deux fois waouh ! La première parce que les GRAND DESIGN sont gonflés de pomper DEF LEPPARD.  TIME ELEVATION frise le plagiat pour ne pas dire que c’en est !
Le deuxième waouh parce que c’est quand même bien ficelé !
Le mieux est de ne pas se prendre la tête. Songez au plaisir d’écouter un bon disque qui vous fait taper du pied et vous colle la banane sur le visage pour la journée entière!  

drapeau_france.jpg  DRAPEAU_ALLEMAGNE.gif

GRAND-DESIGN DSC 0165-[600-At first, can you introduce yourself and tell us in few words  your own career ?

Pelle: I started very very (around 6 years old) early playing mandolin and singing in music-class after my mother thought that was better than playing soccer-hehe. When I was 14 I started as a vocalist in a band - from that on it has been many bands. Here are some of the them: Magenta, Little big band, Monaco, Speedwell, Unchained, Glory, McBeath, Schizophrenic Circus, Zello, Zeelion, Grand Design. Around 1984, I started a small studio just to record my own stuff – now i'm president over Studio Underground Sweden - hehe !

What are your own favorite styles and  influences ?

Pelle: I like very different kind of music - but rock from the 70´s and 80´s are my favourites – especially productions from the 80´s  - you know when they made “larger than life” productions. Some of my favourite bands: Foreigner, Kansas, UK, Styx, D.Leppard, Europe, Scorpions, TNT, etc...

About the band :

Pelle: Well, the band started as a project in my head around 2005 – I had always wanted to do a 80´s rock inspired production with that typical sound and song structures. I started doing songs on acoustic guitar. When all songs were done I talked to Richard about laying down some drumtracks on some songs – he naild them all in 3 days!!! Then I started tracking guitars myself - but I found out pretty fast I sucked!!! Haha So I hooked up with Peter Ledin – he was perfect for the job. During free slots in my studio we recorded guitars and solos thru a strange box called “Rockman”. I later hooked up with Dennis and Anders for bass + additional guitars on the album. The whole album was mixed/mastered during spring 2009.

 

GRAND-DESIGN DSC 0179-[600-

Which artist you work with or you worked with impress(ed) you the most ?

Pelle: Sorry, can't say any names but some guys have impress me veeeeery much sometimes -  some guys really do their homework before entering the studio, some don’t. 

What about your promotion work and your relation with press at the moment ? Do you get a good feed back about your new album ?

Pelle: We have got fantastic reviews!!!!! I think almost 10 full score reviews + a lot of reviews close to full score. Also fans from all over the globe are getting back to us telling us very good things about the the album. Of course we have got some reviews that are not so good-but not so many-mostly complaining about the similarities to The Lepps - haha !

What’s the mood of it ? What would you say to make people listen to it and buy it ?

Pelle: Well I say: Grand Design is the new wave of 80´s rock – if you like great songs with big choirs and melodies that will stick to your forehead like a gum-all this together in a great production you have “Grand Design”. Sit back, put up the volume to 11 – and let Grand Design rock your ass back to the 80´s!!!
GRAND DESIGN Time Elevation - Chronique, cliquez !
Where do you find your inspiration for music and lyrics ?

Pelle: Musically I wanted the songs to have a vibe of the 80´s but in a great production. Lyrics are all from life and parties and stuff – thing happening around you

What’s your favorite new track ? Why ?

Pelle: My favoutite track is “No Time For Love” – its not a instant “hit” but I think it slowly runs you over and the song has this big arena rock feeling – a great song to start with live with the bombastic intro.

Do you think you will bring something new in music with your new cd ?

Pelle: Well-since we wanted that 80´s rock sound and songs – that is not new – but I think the new thing is that we nail it so close to that genre - that people find the album veeery convincing and I think there are some pretty good songs on it. Without good songs it would have been a total disaster.

Will you be touring soon and what can the audience expect from you on stage ?

Pelle: We are right now talking with some agencies about a small tour in Germany + some gigs in Spain. Also UK have shown some interest - I hope we can get out and play with Grand Design – and meet some fans.

GRAND-DESIGN DSC 0159-[600-

 

Message to HEAVY SOUNDERS :

Pelle: To all u rockers out there!!! Have a listen to our songs and if u like them please support us  - buy our album- and we will see you guys live – Rawk On!!!



GRAND DESIGN interview Pelle Saether – Time Elevation (novembre 2009)
Photos promo :
Metal-20Heaven_59ec.jpg

MySpace





http://idata.over-blog.com/2/45/30/44/BANNER/webbanner_granddesign.gif






Retour haut de page :
HSS-webzineblack50.gif


Publié dans Interviews

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article